W…W…W…Wednesday

I’ll tell you mine and you tell me yours. Happy to return to this meme hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.

www_wednesdays44

I’d love to know what everyone is reading.  To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…(or post a link to your blog.)

• What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next?

BarkWhat are you currently reading? Finally picked up Lorrie Moore’s short story collection, Bark. I have to admit, I wasn’t a fan of The Gate at the Top of the Stairs, but wanted to give her another shot in story form. She’s a sharp writer, but I’m not loving it after the first two stories.

 

 

 

The Last Days of CaliforniaWhat did you recently finish reading? Just finished The Last Days of California by Mary Miller. There’s much to love in this southern, dysfunctional, road-trip novel. It’s a great premise — a family trapped in the car together as they drive from Alabama toward California to witness the Rapture. Religious fervor. Coming of age. Sexual awakening. Family drama. These are all components I love, but it never quite came together. The threads of this story could have been like the novels of Wiley Cash or Kevin Wilson, but it pales in comparison.

 

My Year of MeatsWhat do you think you’ll read next? My Year of Meats by Ruth Ozeki. I absolutely loved A Tale for the Time Being so when I saw this title on the recommended shelf at my library, I had to pick it up.

What are your W…W…W… titles?

3 thoughts on “W…W…W…Wednesday

  1. My current fare is Mark Watson’s ‘A Light-Hearted Look at Murder’
    While the recent read was Le Carre’s ‘Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy’
    In between fiction-gawking and work-writing, my eyes saunter to scan through ‘Brown Child’ – an anthology on local poetry and fiction…. 😀

    Like

      • His particular novel shoved me in a neutral-pace. I never had to feel like I got to keep it clutched because unlike other thrillers or spy-materials, I wasn’t able to connect with the character… A fascinating stuff, nevertheless. 🙂 I think there’s even a film adaptation.

        Like

I'd love to hear what you think.

