Monday Quote: Time

 “Time’s a goon, right? You gonna let that goon push you around?” Scotty shook his head. “The goon won.”
Jennifer Egan, A Visit from the Goon Squad

It’s only the start of the week and I’m already worried there won’t be enough time. How does anyone manage to live life and work at the same time? (I’m only in my second full by the way).

Planning my time

Taking a look at the week ahead – work, baseball, work, baseball, work, baseball, work, baseball, wedding shower. My son’s tournament team will finally play its first game, on a weeknight at 7:45 p.m. Did I mention that the games will be played almost an hour from our house? I guess the coaches weren’t kidding when they told us it would be a big commitment from the kids and from the parents.  I’m not looking forward to the late nights, but I see the pride my son carries being part of this particular team and I know this is time well spent.

Bad timing

But the tournament week has bad timing. My brothers and sisters in-law and I are hosting a wedding shower for our niece this weekend. 50 guests and we are not having it catered. I love doing this and I wanted to do this, but now that it’s here – there’s not enough time. The day approaches too quickly. No matter how much we have prepared in advance the final shopping, chopping, assembling and cooking cannot be done until the end. So, in addition to working around several night games this week, I already anticipate Thursday, Friday and Saturday being a flurry of activities to beat the clock. (Did I mention that the tournament team could potentially play at the same time as the shower on Saturday?!?)

Where does time go?

I don’t know how our niece can be getting married anyway? Wasn’t it only yesterday that I was decorating for her mom’s baby-shower? I remember the crepe streamers vividly. I also remember Sara, a beautiful and fresh-faced pre-teen, brightening up the dance floor at my wedding. Seems to me she should be in high school, not the guest of honor at a bridal shower. Where did all that time go?

So, yes, this week I am going to surrender to the goon. It’s going to kick my butt.

6 thoughts on “Monday Quote: Time

  1. Sometimes, when I am really stressed with time and I know there is some sort of deadline or end point, I focus on the end point. for the next 6 days, you will be a lunatic doing what you have to do. Sunday will roll around and you will rest, recuperate, refresh, etc. You can make it till Sunday. Till then, kick but, enjoy the events and make them the best you can.

    Like

  2. I know exactly where you’re coming from, having made that trip frequently myself. The only comfort I have to offer comes originally from my mother,”this too shall pass,” and from myself,”so don’t forget to take lots of pictures.” 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think.