W…W…W…Wednesday: Books read, reading and to read

I am back with another solid week of books read and reviewed and heading into 10 days offs when I hope to really make a dent in my TBR.

Thanks to Miz B at Should Be Reading for hosting. I have discovered so many other wonderful blogs through this book-loving meme.

www_wednesdays44

I’d love to know what everyone is reading.  To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…(or post a link to your blog.)

• What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next?

 

cover image via Goodreads

cover image via Goodreads

What are you currently reading?  I wish I could remember* which terrific blog peaked my interest in Bellweather Rhapsody because I’m really enjoying this mystery (maybe ghost story?) set amid a high school arts conference at a crumbling grand hotel. After feeling burned by The Interestings (which I did not love), I was nervous about delving into another group of teenage prodigies, but this one grabbed me right away. On audio, I’m loving The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches, the 6th installment in the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

 

 

cover image via Goodreads

cover image via Goodreads

What did you recently finish reading? I read and reviewed Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands by Chris Bohjalian. I definitely recommend it to fans of YA and strong smart writing. Also finished The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, which was my first Diane Chamberlain novel. It was completely engaging while I read it, but more made-for-tv-movie than my typical reading choices. It turned out to be a good choice for a summer, poolside read as the story was engaging but the language was simple and straightforward.

 

 

cover image via Goodreads

cover image via Goodreads

What do you think you’ll read next?  I had a great visit to the library this week as I prepare for vacation and a solid week of nothing but time on my hands. I chose 7 books, all different genre, mostly older releases. I’ll be starting with The Painter because I’ve heard nothing but outstanding raves and I’ve never read Peter Heller.

Happy reading everyone!

How about you?

What are your W…W…W… titles? Please feel free to share a link to your own W…W…W…Wednesday posts or share your reading plans in the comments.

*EDIT: Many, many thanks to Rosemary at Rosemary and Reading Glasses as she is the blogger who introduced me to this book and author. Thanks for the reminder Rosemary.

26 thoughts on “W…W…W…Wednesday: Books read, reading and to read

  1. I’ve been considering CeeCee Wilkes for one of my next books–both Diane Chamberlain and Kristin Hannah are my go-to summer reads 🙂

    I just finished Me Before You as well as City of Thieves. I’m getting (relatively) close to the end of I Know This Much is True, and I’m going to start alternating that with All the Light We Cannot See. Tackling those two books should take me a decent amount of time, haha.

    Have a great Wednesday!

    Like

  2. Enjoy your time off! 10 days sounds glorious. I’m currently slogging through Serena. I don’t think it’s happening for me! I just finished The Humans by Matt Haig which was incredible. And next….The Silver Star by Jeannette Walls I think.

    Like

  3. I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of The Painter. I loved The Dog Stars, but wasn’t sure if The Painter would appeal to me. I keep meaning to read The Interestings — but hearing that you didn’t love it makes me hesitant. Have a great vacation!

    Like

    • Thanks Lisa. I’m looking forward to my first Heller (Dog Stars is also on my list.)
      Lots of my friends loved The Interestings, but I just thought it lost its momentum quickly and turned into So What?

      Like

  4. As of now, I’m not yet touching any fiction book. I’m finished with Terry Goodkind’s Wizard’s First Rule — but emotionally, I am not over it yet….. (I grieve like this for almost every book)
    The next read? A friend gave me “The Onion Girl.” Its cover was riddled with words like ‘magic’ and ‘danger.’ Now, I’m curious! 😀

    Like

  5. I hope you enjoy your 10 days off! And I think you’ll like The Painter 🙂

    I’m reading The Silkworm by JK Rowling and In the Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides and REALLY loving them both!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think.